Skip to main content
Close

À Britannica International School, Shanghai, les enseignants britanniques les plus qualifiés et les mieux formés sont sélectionnés pour leur expérience et leur excellence. Chacun est compétent pour enseigner le programme national anglais, The English National Curriculum pour son niveau de la première année de scolarisation (à partir de 2 ans) jusqu'à l'obtention des qualifications GCSE et A Level qui atteignent des taux de réussite les plus élevés.

Actuellement, les qualifications A Level sont recherchées par toutes les universités et les employeurs prestigieux à travers le monde. À Britannica International School, nous travaillons avec les prestigieuses commissions d'examen de l'Université de Cambridge et d'Edexcel pour délivrer les examens du Niveau Avance (AS et A2) menant à l'entrée des universités britanniques, américaines, canadiennes, australiennes et asiatiques

Cependant, nous n'oublions pas la valeur de la diversité culturelle de chaque élève. En plus du programme de base, nous soutenons également la diversité des langues parlées par nos élèves en offrant un programme de langues. Notre World Languages programme propose des cours de langues maternelles durant le temps scolaire pour le mandarin, le coréen, le français, l'espagnol, le japonais et l'hébreu.

Nous avons également des enseignants spécialisés qui offrent un programme de soutien et de renforcement de la langue anglaise, English as an Additional Language (EAL) de grande qualité. De plus, tous nos enseignants sont formés pour dispenser dans leur classe, un programme d'enseignement en anglais autant aux élèves de langue maternelle anglaise qu’aux élèves qui ont l’anglais comme seconde langue.
Le tableau suivant montre les différents niveaux d’enseignement appelés « Key Stage » pour identifier le niveau correspondant à l’âge de votre enfant dans le cursus anglais à Britannica International School,Shanghai :

Early Years

La petite enfance – La maternelle

Pour les élèves âgés de 2 à 5 ans, à Britannica International School, Shanghai, nous délivrons le programme éducatif Britannique pour jeunes enfants appelé « EYFS » (British Early Years Foundation Stage). Notre engagement à offrir des classes de petite taille et un ratio élèves/enseignant faible permet à votre enfant de recevoir l'attention individuelle et personnalisée dont il a besoin pour bâtir une solide base d'apprentissage pour son développement futur.


De la prématernelle à la maternelle, la journée de votre enfant est remplie d'activités d'apprentissage pratiques qui augmentent lentement en complexité, au fur et à mesure que l’enfant développe une plus grande compréhension de chaque concept. L’espace d'apprentissage en plein air est également aménagé avec d'équipements spécialisés qui ont été soigneusement sélectionnés par nos experts de la petite enfance pour consolider l'apprentissage de votre enfant


Bien que tous les domaines de notre programme EYFS soient interconnectés, ils peuvent être divisés en sept domaines d'apprentissage et de développement:


• Communication et langage
• Motricité et développement physique
• Développement personnel, social et émotionnel
• L'alphabétisation
• Mathématiques
• Comprendre le monde
• Arts expressifs et design
• Mandarin

Primary

Primaire

Key stage 1 – Niveau Primaire 1
Key Stage 1 (KS1) est le programme national anglais, the English National Curriculum enseigné aux enfants de 5 à 7 ans. En mettant l'accent sur le développement des matières de base comme l’anglais et les mathématiques, ce niveau d’enseignement garantit que les éléments constitutifs de l'apprentissage des enfants dans ces domaines essentiels sont pleinement développés et compris.


Combiné avec des activités pour développer ces domaines du programme de base, les enseignants spécialisés introduisent aussi les enfants au mandarin, à l'art, à l'éducation physique et à la musique. Un soutien supplémentaire est également accordé aux élèves ayant l'anglais comme seconde langue (ESL), afin qu'ils puissent accéder rapidement au reste du programme enseigné.


Chaque classe a un faible ratio élèves / enseignant. Cela permet à chaque élève d'obtenir l'attention dont il a besoin pour optimiser son développement. Chacun de nos enseignants britanniques qualifiés est soutenu par un assistant d'enseignement pleinement formé et expérimenté.


Key stage 2 – Niveau primaire 2

Key Stage 2 (KS2) est le programme national anglais, the English National Curriculum enseigné aux enfants de 7 à 11 ans. Tandis que les matières de base, les mathématiques et l’anglais sont développées en profondeur, le programme de Key Stage 2 offre également d'autres compétences et domaines d’exploration, y compris l'introduction aux langues étrangères modernes. Les capacités et les talents des élèves dans les matières artistiques et sportives sont également élargis grâce à des programmes d'enseignement spécialisés et à d’autres opportunités dans le cursus scolaire.

Vous pouvez être assuré que le programme national anglais (the English National curriculum) dispensé par des enseignants britanniques, fournit à votre enfant les meilleures bases pour les prochaines étapes de son éducation et de son développement.


Votre enfant sera régulièrement évalué de manière discrète à l'aide de documents standardisés publiés au Royaume-Uni, qui mesurent les résultats d'un élève en anglais, en mathématiques et en science en fonction des attentes du programme anglais pour son âge. À chaque étape de leur développement, nous connaissons bien les domaines de leur apprentissage qui ont besoin d'un soutien supplémentaire pour s'assurer qu'ils sont toujours motivés et qu’ils progressent. Les élèves qui ont des dons et des talents particuliers peuvent être identifiés et bénéficier d'opportunités supplémentaires pour s'épanouir dans leurs domaines de predilection.

Secondary

Secondaire / Collège

Key Stage 3 – Niveau secondaire / Collège 1
Key Stage 3 (KS3) est le programme britannique qui est enseigné aux élèves de 11 à 14 ans. Votre enfant bénéficiera d’enseignants britanniques hautement qualifiés et spécialisés dans chaque domaine. Vous êtes ainsi toujours assuré de la plus haute qualité d'enseignement. Votre enfant continuera d'être évalué et accompagné pour s'assurer qu'il atteigne son niveau scolaire optimal.


À cet âge, il est possible d’identifier clairement dans quels domaines du programme votre enfant excelle. Pendant que nous travaillons pour développer cette expertise, nous veillons également à ce que tous les autres domaines du programme soient soutenus et renforcés.


Key Stage 4 – Niveau secondaire / Collège 2

Key Stage 4 (KS4) est le programme britannique qui est enseigné aux élèves de 14 à 16 ans. C'est le programme qui conduit aux examens externes du certificat international et général de l'enseignement secondaire (IGCSE) pour les plus de 16 ans. Ces examens sont reconnus dans le monde entier pour leurs normes académiques élevées et la qualité de leur programme de cours.


Des enseignants britanniques hautement qualifiés et expérimentés encadrent et guident votre enfant pour qu'il puisse exceller dans les matières de base en mathématiques, en anglais et en science, mais aussi dans ses domaines de prédilection.


Une fois que les élèves de 16 ans et plus ont passé le certificat de fin d’étude IGCSE pour le niveau Key Stage 4, ils entrent au lycée, en Sixth Form pour étudier et passer les examens de niveau AS / A2.

6th form

Secondaire / Lycée

En Sixth Form, les élèves de Britannica peuvent étudier pour les très respectées qualifications A Level. Les qualifications A Level sont reconnues dans le monde entier comme un parcours pré-universitaire de la plus haute qualité. Avec A Level, les élèves peuvent entrer dans les meilleures universités au Royaume-Uni, en Amérique, au Canada, en Australie, en Europe et en Asie.

A partir d’une sélection restreinte de matières à étudier, le cursus A Level permet aux élèves de se concentrer sur leurs matières de prédilection et pour lesquels ils excellent afin d’augmenter leur chance de succès et de réussite.

Pour plus d'informations sur notre Sixth Form, veuillez contacter sixthform@britannicashanghai.com

Skip to main content
Close

At Britannica International School, Shanghai, the highest quality, fully trained teachers from the UK are selected for their experience and excellence. Each one is proficient in teaching the English National Curriculum from the Early Years through to successfully guiding our students to achieve the highest pass rates in their IGCSE and A Level examinations.

At Britannica International School, Shanghai, we work with the world-renowned examination boards of Cambridge (CAIE) and Edexcel to deliver the highly esteemed IGCSE and Advanced Level (AS and A2) examinations, leading to British, American, Canadian, Australian and Asian university entrance worldwide. Today, these qualifications are sought after by all prestigious universities and employers across the world.

However, we never forget the value of your child’s cultural identity. In addition to the core curriculum, we support language development, offering an extensive World Languages Programme to provide native language lessons throughout the school in Mandarin, Korean, Japanese, French, Italian, and Hebrew, all of which are delivered by our specialist native-speaking teachers.

We also have specialist teachers offering the highest quality English as an additional language (EAL) programme. In addition, all of our teachers are trained to deliver a curriculum to both English first language and second language students in their classroom.

The information below shows what Key Stage your child will be in as part of the English National Curriculum at Britannica International School, Shanghai.

Arrange a visit
When I look back at my three years at Britannica, it appears to me that this is the place where fascinating things in life are uncovered. Offering a vibrant, supportive and creative environment for academic and artistic prosperity, talents are not the only things valuable here nor are achievements. Discovering passion, building friendships, learning from individuals around you are what the teachers wish to see the most, and which I have experienced personally as a student.

There is, frankly, no reason to not to love this place.

Chris, Year 13

Early Years

Early Years Foundation Stage

2 to 5 years

Pre-Nursery, Nursery and Reception

For students aged 2 to 5 years old, at Britannica International School, Shanghai, we deliver the British Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) programme. This is a curriculum recognised worldwide for its sound educational structure and age appropriateness.

Our commitment to providing small class sizes and a low teacher to student ratio, far better than you would find in the UK, means that your child is given the individual attention they need to build a solid learning foundation for their future development.

We plan an exciting and challenging curriculum based on our observation of children’s needs, interests and stages of development across seven areas of learning, which are all inter-connectedand crucial for igniting children's curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive.

These seven areas are:

  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

Children are provided with a range of rich, meaningful first-hand experiences in which they explore, think creatively and are active. We aim to develop and foster positive attitudes towards learning, confidence, communication and physical development. In Early Years, your child’s day is filled with practical learning activities that slowly increase in sophistication, as they develop a deeper understanding of each concept. Our outdoor learning area is full of specialist equipment that has been carefully selected by our Early Years experts to reinforce your child’s learning.

EYFS Curriculum Overview

Primary

Key Stage 1

5 to 7 years

Years 1 and 2

Key Stage 1 (KS1) of the British curriculum is taught to children of age five to seven years. With a special emphasis on developing the core subjects of literacy and numeracy, it ensures that the building blocks of children’s learning in these core areas are fully-developed and understood.

Combined with activities to develop these core curriculum areas, specialist teachers introduce the children to Mandarin, Art, PE and Music. Extra support is also given to students with English as an additional language (EAL), to ensure they can quickly access the rest of the curriculum being taught.

Each class has a low teacher to student ratio. This ensures each student gets the attention they need to optimise their development. Each of our highly qualified UK teachers are supported by a fully-qualified and experienced teaching assistant in the classroom.

KS1 Curriculum Overview

Key Stage 2

7 to 11 years

Years 3 to 6

Key Stage 2 (KS2) of the British curriculum is taught to children of age 7 to 11 years. While the core subjects of Mathematics and English are further developed, the KS2 curriculum also provides breadth to focus on other skills and subject areas, including the introduction of modern foreign languages, drama and internationalism. Students' abilities and talents in the expressive arts and sports are also extended through further specialist teaching and other extra-curricular opportunities.

You can be assured that our Primary curriculum, delivered by British teachers, will provide your child with the best foundations for the next stages of their education.

Your child will be regularly assessed in a discreet manner using standardised material published in the UK, which measure a student’s attainment in English, Mathematics and Science against UK expectations for their age. At every step of their development we are aware of the areas of their learning that need additional support to ensure they are always challenged and are progressing. Students with particular gifts and talents are also identified and provided with additional opportunities to flourish in their areas of strengths.

KS2 Curriculum Overview

Secondary

Key Stage 3

11 to 13 years

Years 7 to 9

Key Stage 3 (KS3) of the British curriculum is taught to students of age 11 to 14 years. Your child will benefit from highly qualified specialist British teaching professionals in each subject area. You are always assured of the highest standards of teaching practice. You child will continue to be assessed and monitored to ensure they are fully supported and mentored to achieve their optimum level of educational development.

By this age, it is clear to see which areas of the curriculum your child excels at. While we work to nurture this expertise, we also ensure that all other areas of the curriculum are supported and strengthened.

Secondary Curriculum Overview

Key Stage 4

14 to 16 years

Years 10 and 11

Key Stage 4 (KS4) of the British curriculum is taught to students of age 14 to 16 years. This two-year course leads to external examinations at the end of Year 11 with the International General Certificate of Secondary Education (IGCSE). These examinations are recognised worldwide for their high academic standards and well-developed course structure.

Highly trained and experienced British teachers coach and mentor your child to ensure that they excel in the core subjects of Mathematics, English and Science as well as in their chosen optional subject areas of the curriculum.

Once they have passed their IGCSEs at age 16+, students enter our Sixth Form to complete theirAS/A2 Level qualifications.

Secondary Curriculum Overview

6th form

Sixth Form

16 to 18 years

Years 12 and 13

In Sixth Form, Britannica students prepare for the highly acclaimed and respected A Level qualifications. A Levels are recognised worldwide as the gold standard pre-university entrance examination routes. With their A Levels, our students can enter top-ranked universities across the globe, including the UK, America, Canada, Australia, Europe and Asia.

Our English as an Additional Language (EAL) students will also be further supported to improve their skills in English speaking, reading and writing, if required.

An A Level route to university allows students to focus more on their strengths and passions, through the selection of subjects to study, in which they feel they are able to excel and succeed. Students, on average, will choose to study 3 or 4 different subjects.

For more information about joining our Sixth Form, please contact: sixthform@britannicashanghai.com.

Secondary Curriculum Overview

Thinking about joining our school?